About White Heron

About White Heron

Founded in New York and reborn on Nantucket, the White Heron Theatre Company’s goal is to make theatre truly transformative.

When actor-director Lynne Bolton met legendary theatre educator Earle Gister, associate dean at Yale School of Drama for nearly 20 years, in the mid-1990s, it sparked a shared aspiration: to form a professional, ensemble-driven theatre company of like-minded artists. Together they took the leap and founded the White Heron Theatre Company in 2004. Initially operating from New York, the Company has made its home in Nantucket’s downtown business and cultural district since 2012.


Robert Resnikoff and Scott Bryce, Small World, 2014

White Heron on Nantucket and Beyond…

Nantucket offers an incomparably stunning natural setting and a pace-of-life suited to creative reflection and the development of great new work. In addition, the company collaborates and works with organizations well beyond our shores.

We collaborate with some of the world’s premier arts organizations: The Long Wharf Theatre, The Edinburgh Fringe, the Folger Shakespeare Library in Washington, DC, and more.


Mission Statement:

White Heron Theatre Company produces transformative, professional  productions of classical and contemporary plays and creates innovative educational experiences based on that work.  

Your support:

We are doing amazing things at White Heron, but ticket sales only cover a portion of our costs. Please help. Your gift is tax deductible.

Please Give


White Heron Theatre Company

Today, White Heron is led by actor/directors Lynne Bolton, President and Artistic Director; and Michael Kopko, Producing Director & Co-Artistic Director. They share and are furthering the same aesthetic sensibility and vision for text-centric, ensemble work and collaborations – encompassing classical, contemporary, and new plays that speak to audiences in timeless ways.

Who we are:


Lynne Bolton

President & Artistic Director




Michael Kopko

Producing Director & Co-Artistic Director  




White Heron Board of Directors

Robert Doran, Chair

Chris Bierly                                          Lynne Bolton

Leighanne Champion                         Mark Cunha

Carolyn Durand                                   Sheri Feigen

Kim Frisbie                                      Robin Hammer

Victoria Hansen                                James Malone

Michael Rhea                                       Martin Tackel



Advisory Board

Amy Povich Agus

Maureen Fennessy Bousa

 Anne Marie Bratton

Scott Bryce

Harriette Fox

Marcus Dean Fuller

Cary Hazlegrove

Sally Horchow

Beth Ann Meehan

Lisa Melillo

Grant Sanders

Ivy Scricco

Catharine Soros

Schuyler Tilney

Melissa Hale Woodman

About White Heron
About White Heron 3